Add Your Own Review

Review: Fish Tram Chips

Restaurant

Old Road, Llandudno, LL30 2NB, United Kingdom

A real vintage treat

  • By SilverTraveller TraceyA

    2 reviews

  • May 2016
  • Llandudno
  • £7.99
  • No
  • Casual
  • British

28 people found this review helpful

My husband and i travel as much as we can and have been lucky enough to some wonderful holidays/short breaks far and wide over the last few years. We were only recently saying that of all the places we have travelled it is very hard to find a really good ‘Fish & Chip’ shop, remembering back to when we were children and going into the chippy with your pennies and asking for the ‘batter bits’! Over the last years we have found few and far between good chippies that we would return to and have enjoyed one of those being Roy’s Fish & Chips Gibraltar and the other a bit closer to home The Black Country Living Museum. That is until we stumbled upon Fish Tram Chips on a recent visit to Llandudno. The restaurant offers a takeaway service on one side and a very quaint little restaurant on the other. It faces the Great Orme Tramway station, and so very handy to either treat yourself before you travel up the summit or afterwards. We were more than pleasantly surprised at the whole experience of dining there. Upon entrance you are greeted by very polite and friendly staff who seat you immediately and attend to your needs ( This i found quite refreshing as a wheelchair user it is sadly lacking in most of the places i have visited ) The tables are set in what i would call a quaint cottage vintage style , with the staff also in dress reminicient of a war time shop worker. When the meal arrived it was presented in the most beautiful way with a little chip fryer basket with paper surrounding the homemade chips which were fluffly and crisp. The Cod was well absolutely amazing with crispy crunchy batter and homemade mushy peas served in a side dish. Yhe pots of tea served with a tiny glass milk bottle. And not just the appearance of the meal itself was amazing so was the meal! The BEST fish and chips i have tasted since i was a child! And hubby agreed with me, so much so that we were regular visitors here for the duration of our three day stay in beautiful Llandudno. I thouroughly reccomend if you take a visit and you love fish & chips then this gorgeous restaurant is a must ! You wont be dissapointed X Oh and if you like an alcholic drink this restaurant is also fully licenced.

28 people found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful? YES

This review is solely based on the opinion of a Silver Travel Advisor member and not of Silver Travel Advisor Ltd.

More about 'Fish Tram Chips'

Why not read other articles and reviews possibly related to this one?
Read more

What are your thoughts?

Discuss this review on our Forum

Create a new thread To leave a comment, please Sign in

Other Members' Thoughts - 8 Comment(s)

  • ESW
    over 3 years ago
    I've started a new thread on the forum about fish and chips.
    http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/forums/its-not-all-about-travel/5220-fish-and-chips
  • TraceyA
    over 3 years ago
    Thank you for the suggestion sounds a great idea as i do LOVE my holidays almost as much as good food! 'Legging it' over there now!
  • ESW
    over 3 years ago
    Number 1's godfather lives near the Severn Valley Railway, so the two boys always go on that when they go to see him. They like it nearly as much as the Ffestiniog.

    It is years since I went to the Black Country Museum. I loved the rtrip along the canal, especially when it went into the tunnel and passengers had chance to leg it through the tunnel.

    Have you thought about joining us on the forum to chat about holidays?
  • TraceyA
    over 3 years ago
    Thank you for your recommendations i shall certainly take a visit should we venture to this beautiful part of the world.I am rather partial to an ice cream or two, which again takes me back to my childhood of holidaying in Saundersfoot Tenby and a little ice cream place where my Mum took me, i can taste it now the wonderful knickerbocker glory that was my holiday treat, and it was just that! So yummy, and of course as a child who had never experienced a desert as glamorous as that ever before i was amazed that it seemed a never ending delight the further i delved the tall spoon!
    I do LOVE a good breakfast, again something that i and the hubby also were saying that it's hard to find a hearty old fashioned as we call it full English!
    On my bucket list is a trip on the Orient Express as i do LOVE to travel on trains and the history of them,.

    How wonderful that your Grandsons can experience and make such wonderful memories that we are so lucky to have. If your Daughter and the boys and yourself are ever this way i would recommend you take a visit to Ironbride/ Bridgenorth and a ride on the Severn Valley Railways and don't forget to stop off at The Black Country Living Museum for those old fashioned fish and chips and take a trip on the Dudley canals. If you have time too there is Dudley Zoo and Castle.
    I suspect that H&S would be in their element back in the day! A sign of how times change once again and us getting older.
  • ESW
    over 3 years ago
    If you do get to Criccieth, Cadwaladers Ice Cream Parlour is virtually opposite the Castle Fish and Chip shop. This is very popular with both tourists and locals and there is always a steady stream of customers throughout the day. The shop was taken over in the 1980s and was given a make over and is now an American style ice cream parlour. It isn't the same as you may remember from childhood holidays and I don't think It is anywhere near as much fun as it used to be with the wonderfully old fashioned shop. The recipe is supposed to be the same but it doesn't taste quite as good to me - more commercialised. They also do different flavours now. They also have branches in Porthmadog. Betws y Coed as well as South Wales and even in Staffordshire...

    If you like a good breakfast, I can definitely recommend Breaktimes Cafe on the Pensamer Estate on the outskirts of Porthmadog. The breakfasts are huge and good quality ingredients.
    http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review?id=156166

    I first went to Criccieth on holiday with my parents when I was 14 and loved all the castles. Criccieth CAstle always reminded me of Kirrin Castle in the famous Five stories. We holidayed in the Llyn Peninsula with daughter every Easter for 25 years. She loved the Ffestiniog Railway. She is now taking the two grandsons who also love the castles, the Ffestiniog Railway and all the beaches. Fish and chips and ice cream are the icing on the cake!

    The hot scones at Tan y Bwlch cafe on the Ffestiniog railway are also VERY good. They are baked fresh every day for the first train of the day and are so poplar they have probably sold out by lunch time. The cakes there are good too, and better than those at Harbour Station cafe.

    I also remember that warm milk too - and we had it right the way through Grammar school too. I wonder what H&S would make of the lack of refrigeration especially in the summer months....
  • TraceyA
    over 3 years ago
    HMJ i agree with your comment about the unhealthy side of the batter bits ( scraps as you know them ) but boy oh boy as a child it sure beat a healthy ham salad I'm sure you will agree! :D And yes, i think that it's the little things that make all the difference in presentation. Very reminiscent of the lunch time milk as an infant school pupil ( That was always warm yukk ) I can assure you though that the milk in their little bottles was not D
    Thank you for the compliment about my review ESW it is much appreciated. Aha, i see that the 'batter bits' must be a Black Country thing ? Now you have me wondering of what certain regions nationwide refer to as the scraps/ bits of the batter, perhaps we should do a survey.
    Yes Llandudno is such a pleasant place. I haven't visited Criccieth since i was a child and you have taken me back to wonderful happy memories spent their with my late Mum and Dad :) Thank you for that :) I just might take a visit there in the near future, would be nice to go back as i remember it was a very beautiful place. And yes, i most certainly will give Castle Fish and Chips a visit if we do, and will let you know what we think.
    HMJ i do hope your still not salivating! And that you have managed to quench your desire for some lovey Fish and Chips since your last comment.
    Thank you both for your lovely comments and have a great week ahead!
  • ESW
    over 3 years ago
    This sounds wonderful - and it is so nice to read a 'proper' review which makes me feel I am eating the meal with you. We also call them scraps in Lincolnshire and they are often the best bit of the meal.

    I do like Llandudno - it is such a lovely old fashioned place and the Great Orme Tramway is great fun too.

    If you are in North Wales again and are in the vicinity of Criccieth, Castle Fish and Chips just down from the castle is also pretty good too. The two Grandsons love eating there's on the beach. If you do manage to visit, let us know how it compares with Fish Tram Chips....
    http://www.silvertraveladvisor.com/review/restaurant/148404-review-castle-fish-and-chips
  • HMJ
    over 3 years ago
    I am salivating and now yearning for fish and chips. Where I came from in Yorkshire we used to call the 'batter bits' scraps - like you we used to ask for chips and scraps (probably not the healthiest combination). I love the little milk bottle.