Add Your Own Review

Read more Reviews

Review: Jules Verne

Attraction - Others

United Kingdom

A wonderful experience in Morocco with VJV

  • By SilverTraveller OCEANMAN

    2 reviews

  • March 2016
  • Wife

37 people found this review helpful

A wonderful tour that mixes the usual tourist areas with some of the most fantastic hills and mountains – away from the usual tours .

I took this photo in a nomadic ‘Genuine Bedouin’ lady`s tent some 40 miles from Erfoud in the desert. We thoroughly enjoyed her tea and she really liked the bag!

37 people found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful? YES

This review is solely based on the opinion of a Silver Travel Advisor member and not of Silver Travel Advisor Ltd.

More about 'Jules Verne'

Silver Travel Advisor Recommended Partner: Jules Verne

Why not read other articles and reviews possibly related to this one?
Read more

What are your thoughts?

Discuss this review on our Forum

Create a new thread To leave a comment, please Sign in

Other Members' Thoughts - 7 Comment(s)

  • travellingcat
    about 4 years ago
    Sounds great!
  • Adventurer
    about 4 years ago
    Looks good. Nice trip!
  • ESW
    about 4 years ago
    Thank you for all that wonderful detail. I really can envisage the holiday now. Small group travel is so much nicer too. We were in Tunisia four years ago and were bowled over by the Roman sites and have been told that those in Morocco are equally as good. There were so many of them and in such good condition too. The Atlas Mountains sounds wonderful and especially the visit to the Foreign Legion outpost. I'm not too sure about teh camels though - you can fall off them. I really will need to think seriously about this....
  • OCEANMAN
    about 4 years ago
    Hi ESW -As per your request -
    The 1st half of the 2 week tour covered the key "tourist cities & towns" Marrakech, Casablanca, Rabat and Tangiers visiting the usual sights -but the good bits were the choice of hotels all traditional Riyadhs -small, historical , very well appointed -serving both local and international options for breakfast . Lunches and dinners were always taken in Specialist restaurants with wonderful décor ,ambience and food . One point to note is that many were "alcohol free" !
    Week 2 was a very different experience -leaving the mass tourist environments ,heading out in what our guide called his people`s Morocco. The scenery was very different as we travelled around and across snow capped Atlas Mountains . The daily visits took us to some spectacular Roman and early civilisation towns and villages , with very friendly people , and also an opportunity to visit locals in their own homes.
    We particularly liked Teouan , Chefchaouen, Volubilis -a major Roman Centre, Meknes with its wonderfully preserved ramparts ,granaries and stables capable of "holding " over 1000 horses.
    A trip to the dunes in 4X4 ,then a camel ride even higher into the Dunes to see the sunset followed by some star gazing in the "middle of the desert" was offered as a very cheap extra and is thoroughly recommended .
    The visit to French Foreign legion outpost at Quarzazate with an excellent guide commentary , enabled us to relive the days when men went away to forget and were often forgotten as well as getting an idea as to just how torrid life was. The Essouira & Taroudant areas due to their scenic splendour and Geographical formations and features are one of the main film making centres ,so we were able to see where such famous films as Othello , Lawrence of Arabia, Gladiator, Lands of Time ,and Prince of tides were all shot . Also the film based museums were an added treat.
    Just one final comment -VJV try to organise this type of holiday as small groups -we were 12 + driver and guide ,so really good for touring the sights ,being able to keep up and hear what the guide says ,but also providing opportunity to get to know fellow travellers more than one would if the tours like those offered by other companies catering for the more normal 20-30.
    So a great experience ,great value , great places and a true experience of both "tourist & the real local Morocco"! with lots of very memorable moments that we will relive as we look at all our photos .
    I hope if anyone does the same trip ,you enjoy it as much as we did !
  • ESW
    about 4 years ago
    I was rather hoping for a participant's view rather than the VJV brochue view!
  • OCEANMAN
    about 4 years ago
    Hi MESSAGE for ESW - Thanks for your interest -Suggest you have a look at the Voyage Jules Verne brochure -paper copy or online and look up the details for "THE GRAND TOUR OF MOROCCO" .See if this helps -I`m sure it will ,and then suggest you talk with one of their advisors . It was a truly remarkable experience ! We have been with VJV on at least a dozen holidays & this was the best so far .
    Do come back to me if you have any further ?`s or don`t get the answers you want from VJV
    BW Mike
  • ESW
    about 4 years ago
    Oh please, please ,please can you tell me more - especially the bits away from the usual tours.