Add Your Own Review

Read more Reviews

Review: Mount of Temptation Restaurant

Restaurant

Jericho, Israel

Overcharged my credit card

  • By SilverTraveller pilgrim

    1 review

  • April 2016
  • Middle Eastern
  • Jericho
  • US$450.00
  • Casual

44 people found this review helpful

I went there as recommended by my taxi driver from Jerusalem. I arrived when the buffet had ended on April 4th 2016 PM. A pretty good meal was served to me and my taxi driver. The son of the owner was our server. The agreed upon cost was NIS100.00. I owed NIS700.00 to my taxi driver for touring Hebron, Herodium and Jericho. So the TEMPTATION CENTER Restaurant and Gift Center were going to run my VISA credit card for NIS900.00 so that I could pay taxi driver and lunch. It turns out that they ran my VISA CARD for US$930.00 overcharging me US$682.00. It didn’t matter that I gave the son of the owner a generous tip of US$30.00. I have been communicating by email to Mr. Abu Raed Abdelrazek for a couple of weeks requesting a refund. First I was told that the Passover holidays in Israel prevented the credit transaction. Then I was told that my credit card was going to be refunded. Immediately after, VISA detected and blocked some suspicious online credit card debit transactions. Next my emails to Fadi and Mr. Abu Raed Abdelrazek go unanswered. Calling the website’s phone number ending in 2614 is useless because it is out of service. I had success one day calling 972 54 217 1976 but now it has a recorded message in Hebrew. So no one picks up the phone call."

PILGRIMS BEWARE

44 people found this review helpful

Did you find this review helpful? YES

This review is solely based on the opinion of a Silver Travel Advisor member and not of Silver Travel Advisor Ltd.

More about 'Mount of Temptation Restaurant'

Why not read other articles and reviews possibly related to this one?
Read more

What are your thoughts?

Discuss this review on our Forum

Create a new thread To leave a comment, please Sign in

Other Members' Thoughts - 6 Comment(s)

  • sandra_42
    over 4 years ago
    Thanks for posting the facts about the resolution. Their stance that it wasn't fraud because you knew the perpetrator is clearly nonsense. I find that persistence is the answer. They hope you'll just give up and you didn't!
  • pilgrim
    over 4 years ago
    sandra_42, I communicated with TD VISA after doing so with merchant by phone at first and emails after. I got a response from VISA fraud protection that this wasn't fraud because I knew the vendor. Then VISA customer service took on the case but told me that they couldn't guarantee a resolution. I sent them copies of the emails and had a very long conversation with the manager. Eventually it was resolved and the transaction rectified on June 2. Thanks for your support and advice.
  • pilgrim
    over 4 years ago
    Yes, I am doing this (on-going claim with TD VISA FRAUD CLAIMS) as well as warning other travelers going to Israel & West Bank. to make sure their transactions are recorded in the appropriate currency. This way you won't end up paying in US$, Pounds or Euros what was agreed upon in NIS (New Israeli Shekels) for the bill could quadruple.
  • sandra_42
    over 4 years ago
    Then if you have the e-mail that agrees they overcharged forward it to VISA. Also challenge the decision about the currency on the grounds that the device was faulty or deliberately rigged as the currency should not change once you have entered you pin.
  • pilgrim
    over 4 years ago
    Hi sandra_42, I am based in Canada. I tried the VISA fraud prevention office but they were uncooperative. The reason is that they thought I had agreed to the charge in US$ and not in NIS (New Israeli Shekels) by authorizing with my pin number. But I never controlled the choice of currency or saw it displayed in the handheld device. I mistakenly thought the sign for currency was in NIS Shekels but it seems that it automatically went to US$ as soon as I entered my pin number. I much liked when you had to sign up the receipt where you could see in black and white the charge and the currency symbol. The merchant agreed that there was an error and an overcharge by email but now they won't even respond to the phone calls or emails. Typical crooks taking advantage of the tourists.
  • sandra_42
    over 4 years ago
    Are you based in the UK? Whenever I have had a dispute with charges to my credit card the credit card company has suspended the disputed amount and taken up the case on my behalf. This has happened twice over the years and the cc company has sorted it for me.