Welcome to our forums.

Genealogy and travel

I’ve been researching my family tree intermittently for many years now. Most of my ancestors were farming folk in the East Riding of Yorkshire but I’ve tracked down two who escaped!

My great uncle went to Australia as a young man and fought for the Australian Imperial Force. He was wounded in France twice before being killed in action on 4 April 1918. He is buried in Villers-Bretonneaux Military Cemetery, Somme which of course required a visit.

A great aunt left the UK as an 18 year old and travelled on a banana boat to Jamaica where she married a Scottish doctor. We visited Jamaica, the old plantation house where she lived and the family graveyard and met one of her surviving relatives.

Solent_Richard wrote:

But the greatest find I made was a photograph of one of my Great Grandfathers who, not unlike me, was a pioneering entrepreneur in his day…

Great photo Richard. I love old family photos, my oldest is one of my great grandfather when he joined the Met police in the mid 1800’s. I am sure we are now all wondering what you were a pioneering entrepreneur of.

London

Solent_Richard wrote:

the greatest find I made was a photograph of one of my Great Grandfathers

That was special, a great reward for your research.

Essex UK

Interesting subject.

I jumped on the Genealogy bandwagon back in 2003 armed with a computer and some software.

My journey in pursuit of relatives took me to the Family History Centre in London, Widnes, Leicester and Skegness in the UK and as far as San Diago in California.

But the greatest find I made was a photograph of one of my Great Grandfathers who, not unlike me, was a pioneering entrepreneur in his day…

He owned his own Steam Lorry.