Welcome to our forums.

More over 55's travelling during school holidays

I’m not surprised by these figures as I can see it’s true by looking around at the numbers of over 55s pushing buggies and collecting children at schools. I have been doing it for many years. My 2 daughters have only ever worked part-time or on supply and I’ve helped out a couple of days a week for both at different times. They didn’t ever consider working full-time and I certainly could not do it full time, especially now I’m older. I realise that some young parents do need two incomes but it’s not always a case of necessity as much as lifestyle choice. It seems to me, from the people I know, that some grandparents are morally blackmailed into taking on this huge commitment and it is dreadful to think that after working all their lives they are expected to become unpaid child-minders at a time when they should be ‘foot-loose and fancy free’.

It is probably not popular but it is my own opinion that the government should be doing more to encourage young mothers to stay at home for longer with their children. At the moment it seems like it is the opposite and that young women nowadays have very difficult choices to make between maintaining a standard of living and spending precious time with their children that will never be repeated. I’m sorry for them and glad it wasn’t the norm when my children were young. Obviously I’m not talking about single mums or where the wife’s income is the only one in the household.